Application Process & Requirements

Application Process
Any person wishing to obtain a Concealed Carry License must do so through the Illinois State Police. The Flossmoor Police Department is not able to capture and submit applicant fingerprints.

Application Requirements
The licensing process under the Firearm Concealed Carry Act is being handled by the Illinois State Police and requires applicants:
  • Be at least 21 years of age
  • Have a valid FOID card (if an Illinois resident)
  • Have not been convicted or found guilty in Illinois or any other state of:
    • A misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the last 5 years
    • 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, within the last 5 years
  • Not be subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification
  • Not have been in a residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the last 5 years
  • Submit a completed Concealed Carry License application
  • Successfully complete 16 hours of firearms training, including classroom and range instruction